Vitamin K2 + D3 in Pakistan — Which Brand Should You Buy?

A fair, data-based comparison

Vitamin D3 and K2 is one of those supplement combinations where the details matter much more than most buyers realize. The concept is straightforward: D3 increases calcium absorption in the gut, and K2 directs that calcium into bones and teeth rather than letting it accumulate in arteries. But when you start comparing the actual products available in Pakistan, you find significant differences in dose, K2 form, additional ingredients, pack size, and price per day.

Four brands are commonly available and worth comparing: Nature’s Bounty K2+D3, Nutrifactor’s Suncell-K, Herbiotics Vitamin D3+K2, and Route 2 Health Bonical-K. Each takes a different approach. This comparison covers what those differences actually mean for you as a buyer.

Why D3 and K2 Must Work Together

Taking Vitamin D3 alone without K2 is not necessarily the safest long-term strategy. Vitamin D3 significantly increases calcium absorption from the gut. That extra calcium needs somewhere to go. Without Vitamin K2, there is no strong signal directing it into bone. Instead, some of that calcium ends up depositing in soft tissues and arterial walls, contributing to arterial calcification over time.

Vitamin K2 activates two proteins that handle this routing. The first is osteocalcin, which binds calcium into bone tissue. The second is Matrix Gla Protein (MGP), which inhibits calcium deposition in arteries. Both require K2 to function. Multiple clinical studies have found that K2 supplementation alongside D3 reduces arterial stiffness and improves bone density outcomes compared to D3 alone.

The form of K2 also matters. MK-7 (Menaquinone-7), has a half-life of approximately 72 hours in the body, meaning a single daily dose maintains active K2 levels consistently. MK-4, another form of K2, has a much shorter half-life and requires multiple daily doses to maintain comparable activity. For a daily supplement, MK-7 is clearly preferable.

What the Vitamin D3 Dose Actually Means

Pakistan has one of the highest rates of Vitamin D deficiency globally. Studies consistently show that 70 to 80% of Pakistani adults have insufficient or deficient Vitamin D levels. The standard recommended intake for adults is 600 to 800 IU, but most nutritional medicine practitioners consider 2,000 to 4,000 IU per day appropriate for adults in countries with high deficiency rates. For people who are already deficient, doctors often recommend 5,000 to 10,000 IU temporarily.

This is where the four products diverge significantly. Some are designed for maintenance in people with adequate D levels. Others are higher-potency options for people with measured deficiency or higher baseline needs. Understanding which category applies to you is the first step in choosing the right product.

The Four Products — What Each One Contains

1. Nature’s Bounty K2+D3

Vitamin K2 + D3 in Pakistan - Which Brand Should You Buy?- Blog

Each vegetarian capsule contains Vitamin D3 (as D3 Cholecalciferol) 100 mcg (4,000 IU) and Vitamin K2 (as Menaquinone-7) 100 mcg. One capsule daily. Pack size: 30 capsules, providing a 30-day supply. Price at Herbicame.com: Rs. 8,996. The only other ingredient is Vegetable Cellulose, making the capsule shell vegetarian and the formula free from unnecessary additives.

The 4,000 IU D3 dose is clinically meaningful. It sits in the range most practitioners recommend for adults in high-deficiency countries who want to maintain sufficient levels rather than just avoid clinical deficiency. The 100 mcg of MK-7 K2 is the standard therapeutic dose backed by clinical research on arterial health and calcium direction. The product is non-GMO, gluten-free, contains no artificial flavors or sweeteners, and is manufactured in FDA-regulated facilities in the United States, backed by Nature’s Bounty’s 50-plus years of quality manufacturing.

2. Nutrifactor Suncell-K

Vitamin K2 + D3 in Pakistan - Which Brand Should You Buy?- Blog

Each tablet contains Vitamin D3 1,000 IU and Vitamin K2 (Menaquinone-7) 45 mcg. One tablet daily. Pack size: 30 tablets. Price: Rs. 850. DRAP-enlisted, manufactured in Pakistan under cGMP standards, halal-certified.

Suncell-K is the most accessible and affordable entry in this comparison. The 1,000 IU D3 dose is on the lower end for a population as deficient as Pakistan’s, though it is suitable for people with borderline-low D levels rather than significant deficiency. The 45 mcg K2 (MK-7) is approximately half the dose found in clinically studied K2 supplementation protocols. For general maintenance alongside a diet that includes some Vitamin D, it is a reasonable option. For people with measured deficiency or those seeking the full arterial and bone benefits of K2, the dose is limited.

3. Herbiotics Vitamin D3+K2

Vitamin K2 + D3 in Pakistan - Which Brand Should You Buy?- Blog

Each tablet contains Vitamin D3 10,000 IU and Vitamin K2 (MK-7) 200 mcg. One tablet daily. Pack size: 60 tablets. Price: Rs. 2,490. DRAP-enlisted, manufactured in Pakistan under cGMP standards, halal-certified.

Herbiotics takes the highest-potency approach in this comparison. 10,000 IU of Vitamin D3 is a therapeutic dose intended for people with documented deficiency, typically prescribed for a limited period to restore levels before stepping down to a maintenance dose. Taking 10,000 IU daily indefinitely without monitoring blood D levels carries a risk of Vitamin D toxicity, which is rare but real. The 200 mcg K2 (MK-7) is double the standard clinical dose. For a short-course correction of significant deficiency under medical supervision, this product is appropriate. For unsupervised daily long-term use without regular blood testing, the D3 dose is higher than most people need.

4. Route 2 Health Bonical-K

Vitamin K2 + D3 in Pakistan - Which Brand Should You Buy?- Blog

Each tablet contains Calcium (as Calcium Carbonate) 500 mg, Vitamin D3 (Cholecalciferol) 400 IU, and Vitamin K2 90 mcg. Two tablets daily. Pack size: 30 tablets. Price: Rs. 1,650. Manufactured in Pakistan.

Bonical-K occupies a different category from the other three. It is a three-in-one bone health supplement combining calcium, D3, and K2 rather than a pure D3+K2 formula. This makes it more comparable to a bone health supplement than a vitamin D and K2 supplement. The 400 IU D3 per tablet (800 IU at the two-tablet daily dose) is a basic maintenance dose. The 180 mcg total K2 is reasonable. The 1,000 mg calcium at the full dose covers most of the adult daily calcium requirement, which is meaningful for people who do not get adequate calcium through diet. Route 2 Health is a pharmacy-accessible Pakistani brand with good distribution.

Full Side-by-Side Comparison

FeatureNature’s Bounty K2+D3Nutrifactor Suncell-KHerbiotics D3+K2Route 2 Health Bonical-K
Vitamin D3 dose4,000 IU1,000 IU10,000 IU400 IU (800 IU/day)
Vitamin K2 dose100 mcg (MK-7)45 mcg (MK-7)200 mcg (MK-7)90 mcg/tab (180 mcg/day)
K2 formMenaquinone-7Menaquinone-7Menaquinone-7Menaquinone-7
Added CalciumNoneNoneNone500 mg/tab
Capsule/tabletVegetarian capsuleTabletTabletTablet
Daily dose1 capsule1 tablet1 tablet2 tablets
Pack size30 capsules30 tablets60 tablets30 tablets
Days supply30 days30 days60 days15 days
PriceRs. 8,996Rs. 850Rs. 2,490Rs. 1,650
Cost per dayRs. 300Rs. 28Rs. 42Rs. 110
ManufacturingUSA (FDA-regulated)Pakistan (cGMP)Pakistan (cGMP)Pakistan
Third-party testedYesNot statedNot statedNot stated
Non-GMOYesNot statedNot statedNot stated
Suitable for vegetariansYesNot statedNot statedNot stated

The Three Differences That Actually Matter

1. The D3 Dose Gap Is Wide

The range across these four products runs from 400 IU to 10,000 IU per day. That is a 25-fold difference. For context, blood Vitamin D levels below 20 ng/mL are considered deficient. Levels between 20 and 50 ng/mL are considered sufficient. Most practitioners in Pakistan aim for 40 to 60 ng/mL as a comfortable range for adults.

At 400 IU (Bonical-K), the dose will barely maintain current levels in someone who is already sufficient and will not meaningfully correct a deficiency. At 1,000 IU (Suncell-K), the dose is appropriate for mild insufficiency maintenance. At 4,000 IU
(Nature’s Bounty), this is the dose most commonly recommended for adults in South Asia who want to maintain robust D levels year-round without regular blood testing. At 10,000 IU (Herbiotics), this is a therapeutic dose appropriate for documented deficiency under medical supervision, not typically recommended for indefinite daily use without monitoring.

2. The K2 Dose and What Research Actually Shows

The most studied K2 dose for arterial health (specifically, activation of Matrix Gla Protein) in clinical trials has typically been 90 to 180 mcg of MK-7 per day. Nutrifactor’s 45 mcg sits below this range. Nature’s Bounty’s 100 mcg and Route 2 Health’s 90 mcg per tablet (180 mcg at full dose) both fall within the studied range. Herbiotics’ 200 mcg exceeds it but is not associated with toxicity at that level.

3. What Adding Calcium Changes

Route 2 Health Bonical-K includes 500 mg of calcium carbonate per tablet, totaling 1,000 mg at the two-tablet daily dose. This changes the nature of the product. If you need calcium supplementation alongside D3 and K2, Bonical-K addresses all three with one product. If your calcium intake is already adequate from dairy and other foods, adding 1,000 mg of supplemental calcium daily may not be necessary and can interfere with iron absorption when taken at the same time as an iron supplement.

Who Should Choose Which Product

Choose Nature’s Bounty K2+D3 if:

  • You want a clinically relevant D3 dose (4,000 IU) for year-round maintenance without blood testing
  • Manufacturing standards and third-party testing are important to your decision
  • You want a clean, additive-free formula with only Vegetable Cellulose as the other ingredient
  • You prefer a vegetarian capsule and a non-GMO certified product
  • You are comfortable ordering online with Cash on Delivery

Choose Nutrifactor Suncell-K if:

  • Budget is the primary factor and you want a locally trusted brand
  • You have borderline-low D levels and need a gentle daily maintenance dose
  • You need the product available immediately at a pharmacy
  • You are already taking a separate higher-dose D3 and want K2 support only

Choose Herbiotics D3+K2 if:

  • A doctor has confirmed significant Vitamin D deficiency and recommended a high-dose correction
  • You are using it for a defined short period (4 to 8 weeks) to restore levels before switching to a maintenance dose
  • You want maximum K2 dosing alongside high-potency D3 under medical supervision

Choose Route 2 Health Bonical-K if:

  • You need calcium supplementation alongside D3 and K2 and want all three in one product
  • You are focused primarily on bone health and your diet is low in dairy and calcium-rich foods
  • You want a pharmacy-accessible product with a three-nutrient formula at a moderate price

Common Questions

Can I take a higher D3 dose than 4,000 IU without a blood test?

For most healthy adults, 4,000 IU daily is considered safe for long-term use without monitoring. The tolerable upper limit established by the Institute of Medicine is 4,000 IU, though many practitioners use higher doses for cure. Going above 4,000 IU consistently without periodic blood testing is where caution becomes appropriate, particularly at 10,000 IU per day over the long term.

Is K2 from all these products the same form?

All four products use Menaquinone-7 (MK-7), which is the preferred form for daily supplementation due to its long half-life. The difference between them is dose: 45 mcg, 90 mcg, 100 mcg, or 200 mcg. The clinical research on arterial health outcomes has generally used 90 to 180 mcg of MK-7 daily.

Should I take D3 and K2 with food?

Yes. Both Vitamin D3 and K2 are fat-soluble vitamins, meaning they absorb best when taken with a meal that contains some dietary fat. A meal with dairy, oil, or any fat-containing food alongside the supplement is sufficient. Taking them on an empty stomach consistently reduces how much is actually absorbed.

Why is Nature’s Bounty so much more expensive than local brands?

Three factors drive the price difference: manufacturing in an FDA-regulated facility in the United States, which requires documented batch testing and stricter quality controls; importation costs and customs; and the 4,000 IU D3 dose, which is meaningfully higher than Nutrifactor’s 1,000 IU. Whether the difference is worth it depends on how much the manufacturing standard and dose matter to your specific situation. For someone who needs 4,000 IU and values FDA-regulated production, the premium is justified. For someone who needs only 1,000 IU and wants a reliable local brand, Suncell-K covers that need at a fraction of the cost.

The Bottom Line

The right K2+D3 product in Pakistan depends on three things: your current Vitamin D status, whether you need calcium supplementation alongside, and whether manufacturing standards are a meaningful factor in your decision.

For most healthy adults who want year-round Vitamin D maintenance at a clinically relevant dose with the full K2 arterial health benefit, Nature’s Bounty K2+D3 delivers 4,000 IU D3 and 100 mcg MK-7 K2 in a clean, FDA-manufactured, vegetarian capsule. Nutrifactor Suncell-K is the right choice for budget-conscious buyers or those needing pharmacy availability with a lower maintenance dose. Herbiotics is appropriate for short-course therapeutic correction of significant deficiency under medical supervision.
Route 2 Health Bonical-K fits best when calcium supplementation is also needed.

All K2+D3 brands are available at Herbicame.com with Cash on Delivery across Pakistan with 7 days’s return policy.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top